Virginia Drivers Who Go Slow in the Passing Lane Face $250 Fine
We’ve all experienced the frustration of being stuck behind a slow moving vehicle in the left-hand passing lane.
It’s already an offense to drive too slowly in the passing lane, but few motorists in Virginia are aware of it.
Now legislation is working its way through the General Assembly that would impose a mandatory $250 fine on drivers who travel too slowly in the left lane of highways.
The measure was approved this week by the House of Delegates, reported the Richmond Times Dispatch.
The bill, HB 2201, was introduced by Del. Israel O’Quinn, R-Bristol. It was co-sponsored by Democrats Del. Kaye Kory of Falls Church and Sen. Scott Surovell of Fairfax to show bipartisan support for the move.
Driving slow in the left lane may land you with a $250 fine
O’Quinn brands drivers who fail to move over “left-land bandits.” He said the issue has become an increasing problem.
Addressing the bill from the floor of the House this week, he said:
“It doesn’t matter which corner of the commonwealth you come from. It doesn’t matter which interstate or four-lane highway that you have going through the districts you represent. I guarantee you are going to encounter this many times, even if you’re on the highways for just a few minutes.”
Virginia law at present makes it an offense if you are driving in the left lane at less than the normal speed of traffic . An exception is when passing is deemed not be practical. There’s no fine at present for failing to obey the law.
O’Quinn says driving slowly in the passing lane is also a major cause of road rage.
He said he and his co-sponsors are not seeking to change traffic laws, but to help drivers understand the dangers of disobeying lane rules.
We have written in the past about how road rage can be a serious problem in Virginia. In January, police reported shots fired after a crash on Tidewater Drive in Norfolk.
Traffic experts say driving too slow in the passing lane may cause confusion as well as aggravation, and even accidents. Drivers who are moving slowly are required to move over to the right lanes, according to VA Code 46.2-804.
As car truck and motorcycle injury lawyers in Virginia, we are well aware of how aggressive driving can lead to wrecks. We welcome any measure that will reduce the number of crashes in the Commonwealth.
If you or a loved one has been hurt in an auto wreck in Virginia, please call us for a free consultation at (757) 455-0077. View our client reviews here.